The Training for Peace programme (TfP Programme) International Advisory Board (IAB) is composed of representatives from academia and individuals from international organizations with wide experiences in peacekeeping and knowledge about international politics and African affairs. TfP Programme IAB held its annual meeting on 13-14 November 2014 in Oslo, Norway. The board provides strategic advice to the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) and partners on strategic developments and key issues related to the Programme. In order to ensure that the TfP Programme may continue to be relevant, delivering high-quality products, representatives from the United Nations (UN) and the African Union (AU) were invited to participate in the board meetings.

The 2015 TfP Programme IAB meeting will took place on 17-18 November, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. The TfP Programme IAB members met the TfP Programme management in the MFA and the directors of the partners to discuss different events in Africa with relevance to the programme.

Representatives from the UN and AU regularly participate at these TfP Programme IAB annual meetings. The participants meet representatives of the AU administration to discuss current issues of peace building and peace operations, with an emphasis on UN-AU-Regional Economic Communities (RECs) partnership for peace.

Board Members (As Of November 2014):

Board members

Gen. (rtd) Martin Luther Agwai
Former Force Commander, UNAMID. Deputy military adviser at the UN DPKO. Long military career in Nigeria, including Chief of staff of the Nigerian army.

Dr Jose Victor da Silva Angelo
Long career in the UN – New York and UN missions, including Res. Rep in Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Gambia og Mozambique and SRSG of UN missions in CAR and Chad.

Dr. Francis Deng
Previous Special Adviser of the UN Secretary-General on the Prevention of Genocide and the UN’s first Special Rapporteur on the Human Rights of Internally Displaced Persons. The first Ambassador of South Sudan to the UN in New York.

Ms. Comfort Ero
Africa Program Director, International Crisis Group, Nairobi. Previously Director of ICGs programme for West Africa and Deputy Africa Program Director for the International Centre for Transitional Justice.

Prof Ibrahim Gambari
Chancellor, Kwara State University, Nigeria. Previously Minister of foreign Affairs of Nigeria. Previously Under-Secretary-General of the UN Department of Political Affairs UN SRSG and Head of the AU operation in Darfur (UNAMID). Head of the AU review panel of the African Standby Force.

Mr. Jean-Marie Guéhenno

President and CEO of International Crisis Group. Previously UN USG of the DPKO, and Director, Center for International Conflict Resolution Columbia University, New York. He also served as associate director of the Arnold A. Saltzman Institute of War and Peace Studies at SIPA.

Ambassador, Dr. Monica Juma
Principal Secretary – Interior, Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government. Previously Principal Secretary in the Ministry of Defence and Kenya’s Ambassador to Ethiopia and Permanent Representative to the African Union, Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD) and United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA).

Dr. Funmi Olonisakin
Founding Director, Conflict, Security and Development Group, King’s College, London. PhD, Centre for Defence Studies, King’s College London. Previously researcher at the ISS (South Africa), and a long career in the UN. Adviser to ECOWAS on the protection of children in armed conflict.

Dr. Ramesh Thakur
Director, Centre for Nuclear Nonproliferation and Disarmament ANU Asia-Pacific College of Diplomacy, Canberra. Previously Director and UNSG ASG of the UN University and professor at Otago University, Canada. Member of – and principle writer in – the UN commission for Responsibility to protect and later head of and principle writer of the UN reform agenda 2002.

Representatives from the United Nations (DPKO) and the African Union (PSOD) regularly participate at the IAB meetings.

Representatives from cooperating partners

Mr Chris Coleman Director Civilian capacity Project, Department of Field Support (DFS), UN

Mr Sivuyile Bam Head Peace Support Operations Division (PSOD), African Union

IAB Chair:

Mr Bård Glad Pedersen State Secretary Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Ms Unni Kløvstad Deputy Chair of the IAB Director and Head of the Section for Security Policy and North America

Directors of TfP Partner Institutions

Mr. Vasu Gounden Director, African Centre for the Constructive Resolution of Disputes (ACCORD)

Dr. Jakkie Cillers Director, Institute for Security Studies (ISS)

Dr. Kwesi Aning Director of Research, Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre (KAIPTC)

Dr. Ulf Sverdrup Director, Norwegian Institute of International Affairs (NUPI)